NHSA Scholarships and Awards

Awards and Scholarships

On Wednesday, November 16, 2016, NHSA sent out a notification from Executive Director Yasmina Vinci about Scholarships and Awards:
"I am writing to share with you the changes NHSA has made to our Awards and Scholarships program. We are discontinuing, for now, awarding all but four awards and scholarships. The discontinued awards are not currently supported through external donations and NHSA wants to reimagine the membership experience role that they might play before continuing to to fund them with critical operating resources.
We will continue awarding the following: the Sargent Shriver Excellence in Community Service Award, the Edward Zigler Innovation Award, the Aubrey Puckett Memorial Award, the Vanessa Rich Leadership Awards, and the Ron Herndon Head Start Parent Scholarship. These are all supported by generous donations from the Head Start community.
The nominating process for the 2017 awards is now open. Information about the awards, and the nomination process can be found on our website. Should you have any questions concerning NHSA's scholarships and awards, please contact Gayla Johnson at"
Below you will find descriptions for the remaining awards.  KHSA is still determining plans for handling Kansas awards.  We will update this page as more information becomes available.


Edward Zigler Innovation Award

This Award reflects the innovation and determination of the person many consider to be the Father of Head Start. Since Head Start's inception in 1965, Dr. Zigler has played a central role in the ongoing development of our program design. This award is to celebrate those local programs who have partnered to create high impact services to children and families.

Sargent Shriver Excellence in Community Service Award

This award celebrates an individual's or organization's significant achievement through community service to Head Start and Early Head Start. The nominee for this award should have excelled in addressing issues of poverty, early education or community health.

Ron Herndon Head Start Parent Scholarship

This scholarship honors Ron Herndon's tireless efforts championing Head Start parents. The Ron Herndon scholarship celebrates Head Start parents who, through their own efforts to mobilize other parents and community members, have affected real change in their Head Start programs and/or communities.  Scholarship winners will receive an award of $2,500 and a commemorative certificate.
(Nominee must be attending an institution whose accreditation is recognized by the US Department of Education.)

Aubrey Puckett Memorial Award

National Staff Award in memory of Aubrey Puckett – this award celebrates Head Start alumni (parent or child) now working for a Head Start or Early Head Start program who demonstrates their passion for serving through advocacy, career growth, or being involved in their program, community, or the state/national level to benefit Head Start families.

Vanessa Rich Leadership Award

No information listed at this time.